Annuario > Docenti > Professori emeriti

Beretta Gian Paolo (ultima modifica: 27/01/2020)

Gian Paolo Beretta, born in Monza (Milan, Italy) in 1956, father of Nicolò and Federica, is a professor emeritus, ex full professor of fluid and thermal sciences at Università degli Studi di Brescia. Prof. Beretta (Laurea in nuclear engineering in 1979 from the Politecnico di Milano, M.S. in mechanical engineering in 1980 and Ph.D. in 1982 from MIT) has 37 years of academic experience in mechanical engineering. He has supervised 86 students and published 67 papers in peer-reviewed international journals and 80 in the proceedings of international conferences. All his papers are available for download from his webpage In Web of Science (Researcher ID C-5448-2008), he has 95 articles, 1146 citations, an h-index = 20, and 87 verified Publons reviews. In Scopus, he has 101 articles, 1274 citations, and an h-index = 21. In Google Scholar, he has 135 articles, 2613 citations, and an h-index = 27. He has been assistant professor at MIT (1981-1986), ricercatore at the Politecnico di Milano (1983-1986), associate professor (since 1987) and full professor (1994-2019) at the Università di Brescia (UniBS) where between 1999-2006 he acted as elected Coordinator of the Mechanical Engineering curriculum to lead a major national curricula reform (from 5 yr to 3+2 yr programs). Between 2012-2016 he headed the Doctoral Program in Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at UniBS. Coauthor with E.P. Gyftopoulos of an authoritative reference textbook on the rigorous foundations of thermodynamics and its engineering applications (1991 first Macmillan edition; book review in Nature [reviews in P.T. Landsberg, Nature, Vol. 356, p. 28 (1992) and M. Silvestri, Int. J. Theor. Appl. Mechanics, Vol. 28, 354 1993]). Since 2005 this textbook has been introduced in the prestigious Dover publications collection (517 Google Scholar citations). He has been an ASME member since 1986, elected ASME Fellow in 2006, life member since 2011, awarded the ASME Calvin W. Rice Award in 2011 and the ASME Edward F. Obert Award in 2017. He has been member of the Selection Committee for the Prigogine Prize in Thermodynamics since 2008 and its chair since 2017.

Ruolo attuale